Tue, 26 Oct 2021

  • British and Irish Lions coach Warren Gatland made three changes to the team that will be starting against the Springboks at the Cape Town Stadium on Saturday.
  • Mako Vunipola, Conor Murray and Chris Harris will be starting in place of Rory Sutherland, Ali Price and Elliot Daly respectively.
  • The three that started last week drop to the bench and are joined by Taulupe Faletau, with Hamish Watson and Liam Williams falling out of the match-day 23 completely.

British and Irish Lions coach Warren Gatland made three changes to the team that will be facing the Springboks in the second Test at the Cape Town Stadium on Saturday.

Loosehead prop Mako Vunipola gets a start ahead of Rory Sutherland while Conor Murray swaps places with Ali Price.

The last change was made at outside centre where Chris Harris gets a start, with Elliot Daly dropping to the bench.

Taulupe Faletau makes an appearance on the bench with Hamish Watson falling out of the match-day 23 altogether. Daly's demotion to the bench also meant that Liam Williams is out of the match-day 23.

Gatland said they are eyeing a series win, but they have the prospect of a hurt Springbok side to deal with.

"It'll be another tight contest. We know the Springboks will be hurting and they'll throw everything at us on Saturday, but I think there's plenty more to come from us too," Gatland said.

"We feel we can go up another level from where we were in the first Test and I would expect us to improve.

"It's the biggest game on the Tour and we have to embrace the expectation that comes with it. As players and coaches, these are the games you want to be involved in.

"We're relishing the opportunity to face the Springboks again on Saturday and potentially seal a series win."

The British and Irish Lions have a 1-0 lead in the three-match series after beating the Springboks 22-17 in the first Test at the Cape Town Stadium on Stadium.

The second Test will be played at the Cape Town Stadium and kick-off is at 6pm.


South Africa:


British and Irish Lions:

15 Stuart Hogg (Scotland), 14 Anthony Watson (England), 13 Chris Harris (Scotland), 12 Robbie Henshaw (Ireland), 11 Duhan van der Merwe (Scotland), 10 Dan Biggar (Wales), 9 Conor Murray (Ireland) 8 Jack Conan (Ireland), 7 Tom Curry (England), 6 Courtney Lawes (England), 5 Alun Wyn Jones (captain, Wales), 4 Maro Itoje (England), 3 Tadhg Furlong (Ireland), 2 Luke Cowan-Dickie (England), 1 Mako Vunipola (England)

Substitutes: 16 Ken Owens (Wales), 17 Rory Sutherland (Scotland) 18 Kyle Sinckler (England), 19 Tadhg Beirne (Ireland), 20 Taulupe Faletau (Wales), 21 Ali Price (Scotland), 22 Owen Farrell (England), 23 Elliot Daly (England)

Source: News24

More Ireland News

Access More

Sign up for Ireland News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!